International Atomic Energy Agency  

The International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) is the world's center of cooperation in the nuclear field. It was set up as the world´s "Atoms for Peace" organization in 1957 within the United Nations family. The Agency works with its Member States and multiple partners worldwide to promote safe, secure and peaceful nuclear technologies. The United Arab Emirates has been a Member State of the IAEA since 1976. 
The IAEA is an independent intergovernmental organization that is closely related to the UN system vis-a-vis its structure and procedures. The Agency reports to the UN General Assembly regularly and has the duty to inform the Security Council directly in case of a detected threat to world peace (Statute, Article III B 4).
The tasks of the IAEA rest on three pillars:
- Nuclear power
- Nuclear safety
- Safeguards

Structure of the IAEA:

All (currently 152) Member States participate in the General Conference, meeting once a year. The Board of Governors meets four times a year, the Programme and Budget Committee (PBC) and the Technical Assistance Coordination Committee (TACC) meet biannually.